The New Monuments

New Monuments

Wednesday, September 17th 2008
9pm at Fairchild Chapel

The New Monuments
Chris Riggs

THE NEW MONUMENTS is a collaboration between saxophonist Don Dietrich, violinist C. Spencer Yeh and percussionist Ben Hall.

DON DIETRICH is a saxophonist and founding member of New York City based improvisational group, Borbetomagus. Borbetomagus formed in 1979 when Dietrichjoined with saxophonist Jim Sauter and electric guitarist Donald Miller. Their aggressive music has been described as “a huge, overpowering, take-no-prisoners mass of sound” by Byron Coley.

C. SPENCER YEH was born in Taipei, Taiwan 1975, moved to the US in 1980, studied radio/television/film at Northwestern University, and is now based out of Cincinnati, Ohio. Yeh is active both as a solo and ensemble artist, as well as with his primary ‘organized sound’ project, Burning Star Core. As an improviser, Yeh has focused on developing a personal vocabulary using violin, voice, and electronics. As a sound organizer/composer, Yeh works with all aspects available surrounding a work, aurally and physically, as elements key to the cumulative experience. He is concerned not only with the sensual aspects of sound, but the gestural qualities as well.

BEN HALL is a percussionist and member of Detroit, Michigan improv-noise project Graaveyards with John Olson and Hans Buetow. Hall and Buetow also collaborate with Chris Riggs under the name Trauma, and with Nate Wooley under the name Mêlée, and release music under the Brokenresearch imprint.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s